The Midnight Line

Novel

Christmas Lights: A Novel by Christine Pisera Naman
The Midnight Line – Lee Child
Benedict Wells, “La fin de la solitude”
Dungeon Calamity (The Divine Dungeon) by Dakota Krout
The People vs. Alex Cross: (Alex Cross 25) – James Patterson

Christmas Lights: A Novel by Christine Pisera Naman

2017 | ISBN: 1510725563 | English | 128 pages | EPUB | 0.5 MB

Christmas is right around the corner . . .
It’s the most wonderful season of all, and for the women of Christmas Lights, it’s a time of magic, good cheer, and, most of all, family.
In this collection, we meet Katherine, Julianna, Adrianna, Cassandra, Victoria, Alexandra, and Isabella―seven women each wishing for their very own Christmas miracle. From Katherine, who is caring for an ailing loved one, to Cassandra, the busy mother of toddlers, and Adrianna, struggling with the difficulties of marriage, to Victoria, who is searching for a love to call her own, these stories perfectly capture the heart and soul of the holiday spirit. As Christmas Eve approaches, each woman strives to remember the reason for the season before coming together in a moving finale that celebrates the true meaning of Christmas.
Full of festive cheer, Christmas Lights is the perfect stocking stuffer for fans of Debbie Macomber and Fannie Flagg―or anyone longing to rediscover the magic of Christmas.

The Midnight Line – Lee Child

2017 | ASIN: B06XKKMDPR | EPUB/AZW3/MOBI | 393 pages | 11 Mb

“Lee Child returns with a gripping new powerhouse thriller featuring Jack Reacher, “one of this century’s most original, tantalizing pop-fiction heroes” (The Washington Post).
Reacher takes a stroll through a small Wisconsin town and sees a class ring in a pawn shop window: West Point 2005. A tough year to graduate: Iraq, then Afghanistan. The ring is tiny, for a woman, and it has her initials engraved on the inside. Reacher wonders what unlucky circumstance made her give up something she earned over four hard years. He decides to find out. And find the woman. And return her ring. Why not?
So begins a harrowing journey that takes Reacher through the upper Midwest, from a lowlife bar on the sad side of small town to a dirt-blown crossroads in the middle of nowhere, encountering bikers, cops, crooks, muscle, and a missing persons PI who wears a suit and a tie in the Wyoming wilderness.
The deeper Reacher digs, and the more he learns, the more dangerous the terrain becomes. Turns out the ring was just a small link in a far darker chain. Powerful forces are guarding a vast criminal enterprise. Some lines should never be crossed. But then, neither should Reacher.

Benedict Wells, “La fin de la solitude”

Slatkine & Cie | 2017 | ISBN: 288944032X | French | EPUB | 285 pages | 1.3 MB

Après la perte tragique de leurs parents dans un accident de voiture, trois orphelins tentent de se reconstruire à leur manière.
Jules n’a rien en commun avec ses frères et soeurs, Marty et Liz. Rien à part le tragique accident de voiture en France où ils passent toutes leurs vacances qui leur ôtent très jeunes leurs parents. Placés dans le même pensionnat froid et sans âmes, ils deviennent vite des étrangers les uns pour les autres, s’enfermant chacun dans une forme de solitude – écriture, drogue, écrans. Jules devient alors un loup solitaire. Jusqu’au jour où il rencontre la mystérieuse Alva, avec ses cheveux roux et ses lunettes en écailles. Elle sera son seul et unique amour. Les années passent. Mais le passé sera toujours là pour les rattraper.
La Fin de la solitude, lauréat du Prix de Littérature de l’Union Européenne 2011, est le roman du processus de deuil et de la solitude qui s’ensuit. Mais avant toute chose, c’est une grande histoire d’amour.
EXTRAIT
Je connais la mort depuis longtemps, mais désormais la mort me connaît aussi. Avec prudence, j’entrouvre les paupières, je cligne des yeux. L’obscurité se dissipe peu à peu. Une pièce nue, éclairée seulement par la lueur verte et rouge des appareils et le filet de lumière qui passe par la porte entrebâillée. Le silence nocturne d’un hôpital.
C’est comme si je sortais d’un rêve de plusieurs jours une douleur sourde et chaude dans la jambe droite, le ventre, la poitrine. Et dans la tête, un léger bourdonnement qui s’intensifie. Je devine ce qui a dû se passer. J’ai survécu.
Des images refont surface. Je quitte la ville à moto, j’accélère, je revois le virage devant moi. Les roues n’adhèrent plus, l’arbre fonce droit sur moi, j’essaie en vain de l’éviter, je ferme les yeux…
Qu’est-ce qui m’a sauvé ?
Je louche un peu pour inspecter mon corps. une minerve, la jambe droite immobilisée, sans doute un plâtre, la clavicule bandée. Avant l’accident, j’étais en bonne forme, en très bonne forme pour mon âge. C’est peut-être ce qui m’a aidé.
Avant l’accident… il y avait quoi avant ? Mais je ne veux pas m’en souvenir, j’aime autant repenser à ce jour où j’ai appris aux enfants à faire des ricochets ; aux mains gesticulantes de mon frère quand il bavardait avec moi. Au périple en italie avec ma femme, notre balade au petit matin le long d’une crique de la côte amalfitaine, quand tout s’éclaire autour de nous et que la mer écume doucement sur les rochers…
CE QU’EN PENSE LA CRITIQUE
« Le John Irving que n’a pas écrit Irving. » – New York Times
«La fin de la solitude pourrait être la suite moderne de L’attrape-cœurs» – Lettres-It-Be.fr
« Benedict Wells, le jeune prodige de la littérature Allemande ». – Andrea Fies, ARTE
« Benedict Wells raconte comment plusieurs personnages se croisent et tentent d’échapper à la solitude.» – Contrepoints.org
« On le referme le cœur lourd mais l’âme légère, bouleversé et attendri.» – ToutelaCulture.com
« Benedict Wells a composé une merveilleuse histoire d’amour, à la fois triste, heureuse et bouleversante.» – Hamburger Abendblatt
À PROPOS DE L’AUTEUR
À 24 ans, Benedict Wells publie le premier roman qu’il a commencé d’écrire à 16 ans, Becks, l’été dernier. La presse est unanime, il reçoit le prestigieux Prix des Arts et de la Culture.
En cours de traduction dans 24 pays, La Fin de la solitude, son quatrième roman, a été couronné par le Prix de Littérature de l’Union Européenne. En tête du palmarès des ventes du Spiegel pendant de nombreuses semaines consécutives, La Fin de la solitude est le premier des quatre livres de Wells que publie Slatkine & Cie.
Biographie de l’auteur
À 24 ans, Benedict Wells publie le premier roman qu’il a commencé d’écrire à 16 ans, Becks, l’été dernier. La presse est unanime, il reçoit le prestigieux Prix des Arts et de la Culture.
En cours de traduction dans 24 pays, La Fin de la solitude, son quatrième roman, a été couronné par le Prix de Littérature de l’Union Européenne. En tête du palmarès desventes du Spiegel pendant de nombreuses semaines consécutives, La Fin de la solitude est le premier des quatre livres de Wells que publie Slatkine & Cie. Becks, l’été dernier paraîtra en 2018.
Tournée de l’auteur en France du 18 au 24 septembre.

Dungeon Calamity (The Divine Dungeon) by Dakota Krout

English | 9 Nov. 2017 | ISBN: 1973265001 | 404 Pages | EPUB | 474.45 KB

Powerful necromancers are on the move and Cal is caught in the crossfire. Without his faithful Wisp, Dani, Cal’s mind slips and he begins creating traps and monsters that go against his already loose morals. After a direct threat from an unexpected force causes Cal’s mind to stabilize, he throws all of his resources into keeping his thoughts clear while he funds searches for his lost companion. When others fail him again and again, Cal decides to take matters into his own hands. Deadly occurrences remind Dale that no matter how well he does in his small community, he is still considered a weakling in the greater world. Though he continues his physical and mental training, he decides to gain strength by any means necessary… even if these decisions are killing him.

The People vs. Alex Cross: (Alex Cross 25) – James Patterson

2017 | ASIN: B06WRQNJDX | EPUB | 418 pages | 700 Kb

Alex Cross is on the wrong side of the law. Serving a suspension from the force while he awaits trial for murder, Cross has been branded as a trigger-happy cop, another bad apple walking the streets with a gun, an accusation that Cross will do anything to refute. To make himself feel useful again, Cross opens a counseling office in the basement of his home. When his former partner Sampson shows up needing his help, Cross jumps at the chance, even if it may end up costing him what’s left of his career. When a string of young, blonde women go missing, the investigation leads Cross and Sampson to the most depraved, darkest corners of the internet. Struggling to prove his own innocence and uncover the truth lurking online, Cross must risk everything to save his most at-risk patient of all…himself.

Rating
( No ratings yet )
Like this post? Please share to your friends:
New magazines in PDF every day from USA, UK, Canada, Australia, download free!