Perfect – Cecelia Ahern

Novel

The Forgotten Woman – Angela Marsons
Perfect – Cecelia Ahern
Jules Verne, David Coward (Translator) “Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea” (Penquin Classics)
Our Little Racket – Angelica Baker
Un profilo da favola. La prima inchiesta notturna dell’inconsapevole Di Tuccio – Valerio Tagliaferri

The Forgotten Woman – Angela Marsons

English | 2016 | 308 Pages | EPUB | 345.92 KB
Two ordinary women. Two damaged lives. One friendship that would save them both Kit Mason has lived a life of unimaginable pain. An ex-prostitute, she has fled the clutches of an abusive pimp and now finds herself living hand to mouth in a new city, without anyone to help her.
Frances Thornton seems to be living the perfect life. A lawyer from a privileged background, her perfect façade hides the painful secrets that still haunt her.
Brought together by their attempts to conquer their addictions in an Alcoholics Anonymous meeting, the two women strike up an unlikely friendship.
But can they find strength in each other – or will the demons of their past catch up with them?
A compelling, moving and ultimately uplifting novel about overcoming the very worst life can throw at you and starting over. The perfect read for fans of Jodi Picoult and Amanda Prowse.

Perfect – Cecelia Ahern

English | 2017 | 352 Pages | EPUB | 1.06 MB
Celestine North lives in a society that demands perfection. After she was branded Flawed by a morality court, Celestine’s life has completely fractured–all her freedoms gone.
Since Judge Crevan has declared her the number one threat to the public, she has been a ghost, on the run with Carrick–the only person she can trust.
But Celestine has a secret–one that could bring the entire Flawed system crumbling to the ground. A secret that has already caused countless people to go missing.
Judge Crevan is gaining the upper hand, and time is running out for Celestine. With tensions building, can she prove that to be human in itself is to be Flawed?

Jules Verne, David Coward (Translator) “Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea” (Penquin Classics)

2017 | Penguin Books | English | ePUB | 496 pp | Retail | 81.1 MB
In this thrilling adventure tale by the ‘Father of Science Fiction’, three men embark on an epic journey under the sea with the mysterious Captain Nemo aboard his submarine the Nautilus. Over the course of their fantastical voyage, they encounter the lost city of Atlantis, the South Pole and the corals of the Red Sea, and must battle countless adversaries both human and monstrous. Verne’s triumphant work of the imagination shows the limitless possibilities of science and the dark depths of the human mind.
This new version by award-winning translator David Coward brings Verne’s novel vividly to life for a new generation of readers.
Jules Gabriel Verne (1828-1905) was a French author and a pioneer of the science-fiction genre. His novels include Journey to the Centre of the Earth (1864), Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea (1869-70), and Around the World in Eighty Days (1873), all available in Penguin Classics.
David Coward is Emeritus Professor of French at the University of Leeds. He is the author of studies of Marcel Pagnol, Marguerite Duras, Marivaux and Restif de la Bretonne, and of a History of French Literature (2002). He has translated numerous French classics, including Moliere’s plays, Simenon’s novels and Albert Cohen’s Belle du Seigneur, for which he was awarded the Scott-Moncrieff prize in 1996.
‘We are all, in one way or another, the children of Jules Verne’ – Ray Bradbury

Our Little Racket – Angelica Baker

English | 2017 | 512 Pages | EPUB | 710.52 KB
A captivating debut about wealth, envy, and secrets: the story of five women whose lives are dramatically changed by the downfall of a financial titan
On September 15, 2008, the world of Greenwich, Connecticut, is shaken. When the investment bank Weiss & Partners is shuttered, CEO Bob D’Amico must fend off allegations of malfeasance, as well as the judgment and resentment of his community. As panic builds, five women in his life must scramble to negotiate power on their own terms and ask themselves what —if anything—is worth saving.
In the aftermath of this collapse, Bob D’Amico’s teenage daughter Madison begins to probe her father’s heretofore secret world for information. Four other women in Madison’s life —her mother Isabel, her best friend Amanda, her nanny Lily, and family friend Mina —begin to question their own shifting roles in their insular, moneyed world.
For the adults, this means learning how to protect their own in a community that has turned against them. For the younger generation, it means heightened rebellion and heartache during the already volatile teenage years. And for Lily, it means deciding where her loyalties lie when it comes to the family in which she is both an essential member and, ultimately, an outsider. All these women have witnessed more than they’ve disclosed, all harbor secret insecurities and fears, and all must ask themselves—where is the line between willful ignorance and unspoken complicity?
With astonishing precision, insight, and grace, Angelica Baker weaves a timeless social novel about the rituals of intimacy and community; of privilege and information; of family and risk; of etiquette and taboo.

Un profilo da favola. La prima inchiesta notturna dell’inconsapevole Di Tuccio – Valerio Tagliaferri

Italian | 2017 | 167 Pages | 118.41 KB
Un breve ma intenso giallo che si tinge di rosso e si conclude col blu. Un moderno Sherlock nostrano, dal fine intuito e dalla pessima inclinazione per le relazioni umane, che si ritrova al centro di alcuni feroci ed efferati delitti mentre è in tutt’altre faccende affaccendato.

Rating
( No ratings yet )
Like this post? Please share to your friends:
New magazines in PDF every day from USA, UK, Canada, Australia, download free!
Leave a Reply